Don’t Forget to Vote on June 12

June 12, 2012 is the date of North Dakota’s primary election. Dur­ing the primary, voters will have the opportunity to vote for candidates for the United State Senate, the US House of Representatives, the Governor and Lt. Governor, the State Auditor, State Treasurer, Insurance Commissioner and the Public Service Commissioner all on party ballots. In addition, voters who live in even-number Legislative Districts will have the opportunity to vote for their State Senator and two State Representatives. All party ballots must be cast for one party only. During the primary elec­tion, there is not the opportunity to move from one party to another on dif­ferent races, like there is during the fall election.

During the primary election, there are several other races that are consid­ered no-party races. These include the Superintendent of Public Instruction and the Justice of the Supreme Court.

Locally, in Bismarck and Mandan, voters will vote for a judge to represent District Court 4 and District Court 9. In Bismarck, voters will also choose candidates for the Burleigh County Commission (2), Director, Garrison Diversion Conservancy, Bismarck City Commission (2), Municipal Judge, Park Board (2), and School Board (2). In Mandan, voters will have the oppor­tunity to vote for the Morton County Commission (3), Mandan Mayor, Man­dan City Commissioners (2), Municipal Judge, Park Board (2), Rural School Board, and School Board At Large (2).

Voters living outside Bismarck or Mandan, may go to the Secretary of State web-site and pull up a Sample Ballot for their local area. The web-site is After selecting the “elections and voting” site, a per­son needs to put in their house number, such as 702, and their zip code. Then a menu of different streets in their com­munity with the house number 702 will come up and after the voter selects “Apple Street, etc.,” the site will then give them the option of printing out the sample ballot which will indicate all races for their local area.

In addition to the races listed above, there are 4 Constitutional Measures that will be on the ballot on June 12. Below is list­ed the language of each of these measures and the indication of what a yes vote or no vote will sig­nify.

Constitutional Mea­sure No. 1 (House Con­current Resolution No. 3047, 2011 Session Laws, Chapter 519)

This constitutional measure would amend and reenact section 6 of Article IV of the North Dakota Constitution. This measure would pro­hibit the appointment of a member of the Legisla­tive Assembly to a state office for which the compensation was increased in an amount greater than any general legislative increase provided to full-time state employees during the member’s term of office. YES – means you approve the measure as summa­rized above. NO – means you reject the measure as summarized above.

Initiated Constitutional Measure No. 2. This initiated constitutional mea­sure would amend sections 1, 4, 14, 15, and 16 of Article X of the North Dakota Constitution and repeal sections 5, 6, 7, 9, and 10 of that same article, eliminat­ing property taxes, poll taxes, and acre­age taxes, effective January 1, 2012. The measure would require the Legis­lative Assembly to replace lost revenue to cities, counties, townships, school districts, and other political subdivi­sions with allocations of various state-level taxes and other revenues, without restrictions on how these revenues may be spent by the political subdivisions. YES – means you approve the measure as summarized above. NO – means you reject the measure as summarized above.

Initiated Constitutional Measure No. 3. This initiated constitutional measure would add a new section to Article I of the North Dakota Constitution stating, “Government may not burden a person’s or religious organization’s religious lib­erty. The right to act or refuse to act in a manner motivated by a sincerely held religious belief may not be burdened unless the government proves it has a compelling governmental interest in infringing the specific act or refusal to act and has used the least restrictive means to further that interest. A burden includes indirect burdens such as with­holding benefits, assessing penalties, or an exclusion from programs or access to facilities.” YES – means you approve the measure as stated above. NO – means you reject the mea­sure as stated above.

Referendum Mea­sure No. 4. This ref­erendum measure concerns Senate Bill 2370 as passed by the Legislative As­sembly in the November 2011 special session (Session Laws, Chapter 580). Senate Bill 2370 repealed section 15- 10-46 of the North Dakota Century Code, which required the University of North Dakota to use the Fighting Sioux nickname and logo. YES – means you approve Senate Bill 2370, the effect of which would allow the University of North Dakota to discontinue the Fight­ing Sioux nickname and logo. NO – means you reject Senate Bill 2370, and would require the University of North Dakota to use the Fighting Sioux nick­name and logo.

Comments are closed.